The Unbecoming – Annaliese Feininger

I don’t want to write
any more sad poems about you.
I want to celebrate
the love instead.

Sunsets, thighs,
ocean eyes.

The tides now tug my
hair like your fingertips.

I never left you my slip
to remember my face –
to give you a Murakami taste.

I know I sent you on A Wild Sheep’s Chase.

You told me last night
what a waste I was, to let you go
without a fight.
Darling, I fought
for us day and night.

Through whispers and screams
nightmares and dreams –

I won’t write any more
sad poems about you.

For the day came
when I heard your name,
turned my head,
and smiled through.

Leave a Reply

