For Me Alone – Justin Million – April 27

Synapse Misanthrope-In-Residence #NPM16

For Me Alone

Another morning

 

 

poem.

Walk naked by the plant window
to the bathroom, shower,

walk back into our room to uniform up
where Elisha is still

sleepy, doe-eyed, her eyes mourning;
I’ll leave for weeks at a time

to make that paper we use
to afford what makes us forget

that we don’t spend as much
time together

as we dream
we do.

I had a dream last night
that strangers would try to gain my trust

then try to stab me with small silver
forks. They would push into my trust, then back me

into a silver corner. After taking Nutmeg for a piss this
morning I replay the dream,

remember wondering
where Elisha was,

remember the dream being split
by the sun coming into the real room,

remember checking the time then, 6:30,
so I get another 50 minutes beside her before

another 70 hours over 5 days
away… I now understand the dream:

The longer I am on the road
the more likely I am to die alone.

Leave a Reply

